Go Back
5 April, 2022

Summer Tour with Daniel Barenboim and Lang Lang

Summer Tour with Daniel Barenboim and Lang Lang
© Monika Rittershaus

This August, the musicians of the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra are joining co-founder Daniel Barenboim for a 9-concert tour in Europe. In this edition the orchestra and Maestro Barenboim are joined by star-pianist Lang Lang. 


After pianist and conductor Daniel Barenboim had to cancel the spring tour with the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra due to illness, he is now all the happier to be able to go on concert tour again with the orchestra of which he is co-founder. Barenboim said:

The two pianists have been friends for decades - Barenboim has accompanied Lang Lang's career from the beginning. Lang Lang said:

The summer 2022 repertoire is divided into two programs. The first is Bedřich Smetana's Má vlast (My Country) conducted by Daniel Barenboim. The second is an Iberian-inspired program with the works by Spanish and French composers: Maurice Ravel’s Rapsodie Espagnole, Manuel De Falla’s Nights In The Gardens Of Spain with Lang Lang in the piano, Claude Debussy’s Ibéria (from Images pour orchestre) and the famous Boléro by Maurice Ravel.

tour dates

  • Mon, 1 August: Kölner Philharmonie
  • Fri, 5 August: Kölner Philharmonie
  • Sun, 7 August: Ljubljana Festival
  • Mon, 8 August: Ljubljana Festival
  • Wed, 10 August: Salzburger Festspiele
  • Thu, 11 August: Salzburger Festspiele
  • Sat, 13 August: Waldbühne Berlin
  • Sun, 14 August: Lucerne Festival
  • Mon, 15 August: Lucerne Festival

Broadcasts

  • The concert on August 11 from the Salzburg Festival will be live video streamed on ARTE Concert at 20:30 CET.
  • The concert on August 10 from the Salzburg Festival will be recorded and radio broadcast on Ö1-ORF on Sunday, 4 September 2022 at 11:03 CET.
Topic Tags: